Return to Home Page ARDC
221 West First Street
Duluth MN 55802
or 218.722.5545
The ARDC Website is being updated.
Information Posted is Current.
Please check back for the Re-design.

The ARDC Website is awaiting Updates

Welcome to ARDC
The Arrowhead Regional Development Commission (ARDC) is a multi-disciplined planning and development organization whose jurisdiction encompasses the Northeast Minnesota counties of Aitkin, Carlton, Cook, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, and St. Louis.

The mission of ARDC is to serve the people of the Arrowhead Region by providing local units of government and citizens groups a means to work cooperatively in identifying needs, solving problems and fostering local leadership.

In accordance with the Minnesota Regional Development Act, the Commission serves as an advocate for local governments in Northeast Minnesota, provides leadership in the development of projects that benefit the Arrowhead Region and serves as a catalyst to identify needs and seek solutions to issues of regional significance. This role is especially important with regard to problems and opportunities that are multi-jurisdictional in scope or impact. Throughout its existence, ARDC has developed numerous planning and implementation programs aimed at meeting the needs of the Arrowhead Region.

ARDC also serves as an umbrella agency for a wide variety of local, state, and federal initiatives. These programs include services to aging, human services, transit, transportation, metropolitan planning, economic development, community development, and natural resources. Other responsibilities of ARDC include the development and maintenance of resource data to support the preparation of comprehensive development plans for units of government.

ARDC has four program divisions and is a partner with the Northspan Group. Click on a link below to go to a Division Web Site.

Regional Planning

The Vision of ARDC’s Regional Planning Division is to be the “Full Service Planning Resource” for the Arrowhead Region of Minnesota. We focus on helping communities with all facets of the community planning process from comprehensive planning and zoning ordinance development to specialty planning for specific community improvements. The Division also does planning on a regional basis with the intent to improve the quality of life for all residents and the quality of experience for visitors.

Click here to go to the Regional Planning Division home page.

Duluth-Superior Metropolitan Interstate Council

The Duluth-Superior Metropolitan Interstate Council (MIC) is the designated bi-state Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for the Duluth-Superior metropolitan planning area. MPOs such as the MIC are a forum for discussion and resolution of inter-jurisdicitional transportation issues. The MIC receives transportation planning funds made available through the SAFETEA-LU federal transportation legislation.

Click here to go to the MIC home page.

Arrowhead Area Agency on Aging

The Arrowhead Area Agency on Aging (AAAA) is the designated area agency on aging for the seven county arrowhead region. Area agencies on aging were established under the Older Americans Act (OAA) to respond to the needs of Americans aged 60 and over in every local community. There are over 620 area agencies on aging in the United States and 6 in Minnesota. Minnesota area agencies on aging are designated by the Board on Aging to provide three critical functions: OAA funding administration, community planning and service development, and information and assistance.

Click here for the Area Agency on Aging home page.

The Northspan Group

ARDC has a close relationship with the Northspan Group. Northspan provides business and community development consulting services, organizational development and business recruitment services.

Click here to learn more.

Contact ARDC
221 West First Street
Duluth, MN 55802

ARDC Annual Report 2013

Board and Commission
Member List

2015 Meeting Schedule

ARDC Employee Phone List
Click here for a list of ARDC phone numbers.

Affirmative Action Statement and Plan
Click here to read ARDC's Affirmatave Action Statement and Plan.

MNGDPA Public Statement of Rights and Forms
Click Here to learn about ARDC's data practices policy and to request data from ARDC.


Arrowhead Regional Planningt

Duluth Superior Metropolitan Interstate Council

Arrowhead Area Agency on Aging

ARDC Partners

northland connection

Northspan Group

Directions to ARDC
Do you have a meeting at ARDC's offices?...Click here for directions.

Job Openings
Click here to learn about job opportunities at ARDC.

2011 Performance Assessment

Revolving Loan Fund (RLF)
The ARDC Revolving Loan Fund (RLF) is in place to support business activities in the seven county region of Northeast Minnesota. Financing provided in conjunction with this program is intended to compliment, not compete with private lending institutions....more

Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy
The Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy planning process helps ARDC and EDA gauge the regional economy and assess economic development goals and projects. This site contains information for the CEDS Strategy Team and general public. More info

The NE Minnesota Regional Economic Development Profile 2011 was presented by Heather Rand, MN Department of Employment and Economic Development, at the 20 October 2011 meeting of the Arrowhead Regional Development Commission at Bois Forte in Tower, MN. View presentation

If you are interested in starting or expanding your business in northeastern Minnesota, go to Northland Connection.